Raymond Beadle

Godspeed Raymond Beadle.

The NSRA Joins Sponsors of BDRHoF Celebration Gala Awads Dinner

NSRA logo new ColWith a substantial four figure sum, the National Street Rod Association UK (NSRA) has joined the list of those sponsoring the prestigious 2014 British Drag Racing Hall of Fame (BDRHoF) Celebration Gala Awards Dinner at the Savill Court Hotel, Windsor Great Park on November 22nd 2014. Before the formation of the NSRA, hot rod enthusiasts tended to be organized as a Division of one of the two main drag racing clubs. The NSRA grew out of the National Drag Racing Club (NDRC) Roadster Register with the inaugural meeting being held at the Wheatsheaf Public House on the Reigate Road in Surrey in 1972.




Read More

Tee Rat – Pic of the day


The Stones Racing Tee Rat. Picture by Cliff Jones

BDRHOF Announce winners of Sydney Allard media awards

Original-logo-large small

Earlier this year, the British Drag Racing Hall of Fame (BDRHoF) announced two new awards to be presented at the Annual Gala Awards Event being held at the Savill Court Hotel, Windsor Great Park on November 22nd. They celebrate the importance of the media in promoting drag racing along with the crucial role played by the late Sydney Allard as the ‘Father of British Drag Racing’. The new crystal trophies are sponsored by the Allard Motor Company operated by Sydney’s son Alan and his grandson Lloyd.

The BDRHoF Sydney Allard Awards are open to professionals and amateurs. Best Written Journalism is for to the writer of the best book, article or feature on British drag racing published in print or on-line during the 12-months ending July 2014. Best Photo Journalism is for the best photograph featuring British drag racing, either published in print or on-line during the 12 months ending July 2014, or remaining un-published.

Read More

Five decades ago – The 1964 International Drag Festival

1964 was a landmark year for British drag racing. The previous year had already seen the first American dragsters arrive in the UK after Dante Duce had challenged Sydney Allard to a transatlantic match race series. Duce then convinced Dean Moon to lend him his 600bhp Chevrolet Mooneyes dragster for the series that was later joined by Mickey Thompson who brought over his Ford powered Harvey Aluminium Special slingshott


Read More